Awards & Competitions

Conference delegates stand a chance of being awarded various prizes in the categories listed below at the Conference Gala & Awards Dinner.

ALS/JEOL Award for the Most Upcoming Microscopist – The winner of this award (amounting to an estimated R25 000) will be sponsored to travel abroad and present a paper / poster at an international Conference.

CARL ZEISS PRIZE of R1 500 for the paper or poster that uses microscopy to address an industry-related problem.

FIONA GRAHAM PRIZE of R1 500 is awarded to students who submit a ‘first-time-accepted-no changes-required’ abstract for the conference.

MARY VEENSTRA PRIZE of R1000 will be awarded for the best poster presentation on any form of microscopy presented at the conference.

NIKON Small World (SA) Competition:  (Entries open from 1 October to 1 November with voting from 7 November to 7 December)

Nikon’s Small World is regarded as the leading forum for showcasing the beauty and complexity of life as seen through the light microscope. This Photomicrography Competition is open to anyone with an interest in microscopy and photography.

The subject matter is unrestricted and any type of light microscopy technique is acceptable, including phase contrast, polarized light, fluorescence, interference contrast, darkfield, confocal, deconvolution, and mixed techniques. Entries submitted are then judged based on originality, informational content, technical proficiency and visual impact.

1st Prize: Nikon CoolPix A100 Digital Camera
2nd Prize: Nikon Aculon A211 Binoculars
3rd Prize: Nikon Aculon T01 Binoculars

Click to enter NIKON Small World Competition (SA)

THE SCIENTIFIC GROUP AWARD of R1,000 for the best paper or poster using confocal microscopy.

THE SCIENTIFIC GROUP PRIZE of R1,000 for the most innovative technique in microscopy, and/or on the novel use in SA of an established technique.

WIRSAM LIGHT MICROSCOPY PRIZE of an Olympus camera for the best light microscopy oral or poster presentation.

WIRSAM SCIENTIFIC will award a prize of R850 for the best paper presented by a student author.

WIRSAM TESCAN PRIZE of R1 000 for the most exceptional presentation at the conference.

CARL ZEISS PRIZE for the best low voltage scanning electron micrograph.